An open letter with an open heart

I never knew I could feel this way about a person. I used to think I knew what being in love was, but I never truly did. Every day that he is in my life, I go to sleep and wake up happy. I deeply cherish the moments we spend together, and I always want more. I am ready to give up everyone else for him. I’m ready to be faithful and treat him like the king he is. I want to help motivate him to be the best version of himself, as he does for me. Life can be tricky and tough but I feel like with him by my side we might be able to do anything…almost a year in and the butterfly’s continue to flutter in my heart.

It’s past a feeling of like – its beyond. A feeling that often makes me feel crazy. I know I would do just about anything for him, and even more to make him smile.  What I love about this relationship is that it is not based off wealth, money or superficiality. It’s pure and raw. I don’t know how I got so lucky to be introduced to someone like him. Friends can say whatever they want about him, but they don’t know him like I do. They don’t hear this laugh or feel the way his hands gently grasp mine. They don’t hear his goals, or know the flaws that make him who he is. I see it – I see it all clearly and to some it might make them want to run away, but for me, it pulls me closer.

I used to watch and admire other couples because I wish I had what they did. Now I watch and admire him. I wouldn’t change him for the world. I wouldn’t ask for a taller or different looking person. I wouldn’t ask for a doctor or an athlete. I wouldn’t ask for anyone who is not him. The universe – as always – worked out in my favor that day we met. All I know is that I love him, unconditionally through the good and bad. And although we have many obstacles to still go through – because that is just how life works – I have the utmost faith that we will always make it through…

Basically what I’m trying to say is that I love you.

Leave a Reply

